Laid Off

This morning, the company went through a big round of lay offs, and I was one of the people who didn’t survive the cut. I heard that my boss is also no longer with the company; somebody else is now managing the group. My former boss is a C++ expert and was integral to the computer code that we have been developing, and without him it’s not clear that the remaining group can survive.

It was abrupt, but not entirely unexpected. We all knew from the inside that there were problems. (Actually, I had expected the Big Chop to come from a different direction, not from headquarters. I thought our main customer would drop the big contract.) Also, a few weeks ago my former boss had a staff meeting in which he warned us that lay offs were probably in the works. In a way, it’s a relief that it has finally happened; now I can make concrete plans.

I have a lot of stuff at the office, mostly books. I brought back a few boxes of books and stuff, but I’ll need to make a few more trips back to the office to completely empty it out. Right now I’ll eat lunch, but later in the afternoon I’ll return to the office to pick up more stuff. Then I’ll start my job search.

Adventure beckons.

Published in: on 3 February 2011 at 2:53 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://markovthoughtchain.wordpress.com/2011/02/03/laid-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s very unfortunate but trust the knowledge that this is your life path. Keep your senses finely tuned so that you will notice the other doors opening (and they will).- You know what the next “step” will be, don’t you?
    TS

    • Hi TS, yes, I have a pretty good idea what the next step will be. The severance package that my former employer gave me includes three months use of a career services provider named Lee Hecht Harrison, who will help define my career objectives and assist in my job search. (This seems to assume that I can last without a paycheck for three months. I believe that I can; I haven’t been living paycheck-to-paycheck.)

      I can see two career paths that I can go: I can continue on the same career path and find a job similar to my previous work (i.e., developing and maintaining software for functional neuroimaging), or I can go in a different direction and be some sort of statistical consultant where the emphasis is less on software development and more on analyzing data and writing the results up in a formal report. But maybe there are other possibilities that I’m not thinking about. Maybe LHH can help me think up some other cool ideas that I just didn’t have the imagination to consider.

      I’d also like to try LHH just out of curiosity. What will they do that I would have done differently?

  2. Sorry to hear the bad news, Joe but I have no doubt you will land on your feet quickly in a job that is both challenging and rewarding. Remember what you told me years ago about the Buddhist view of change – the impermanence of things is fundamental to our world, it just depends on how you react to it. Read this for a refresher: http://www.aloha.net/~horaku/change.html
    Go forward and embrace!

    • Hi K., thanks for the link, I’ll check it out!

      It turns out that I happen to have a previous post on the Buddhist concept of dukkha; see here.


Leave a Reply

