Monterrey, México, August 16, 2009

B.O. first took me to Soriana to buy new rubber sandals, since I had lost mine somewhere along the way (probably in the transfer from Hotel Ibis to B.O.’s parents’ house).

Afterwards, we stopped by OXXO, where I bought a chicken salad sandwich.

The Sandwich From OXXO

The Sandwich From OXXO

We split the sandwich as a light snack on the road, and we also snacked on tuna (the cactus fruit, not the fish).


After a while, we arrived to the Termas de San Joaquín (San Joaquín Hot Springs). A bath house was built around natural hot springs; it was essentially a shallow swimming pool, with the water coming up to about waist level. There was a distinct sulfurous smell.

Lantern In The Spiral Ramp

Lantern In The Spiral Ramp

Passageway

Passageway

B.O. and Me At The Termas

B.O. and Me At The Termas


We returned to Monterrey, and had a late lunch at the house of B.O.’s brother E., the father of little V. who was shown taking a swing at the piñata on August 14. who served us a gourmet Italian meal that he cooked himself. Also at the table were E.’s wife N., and his two daughters M.A. (whom we have seen earlier) and little V.


In the evening, we went to the Mall Valle Oriente, where I bought a tie at Scappino, and then stopped by Sanborn’s and had coffee. Afterwards, we saw the new G.I. Joe movie in a very fancy theatre at V.I.P. Cinépolis. Waitstaff is present so you can order out of a menu, and you can then have a meal (B.O. mentioned sushi as a possibility) while you watch the movie; but we didn’t order anything.

Here are some photos of the interior of the V.I.P. theater.

V.I.P. Cinépolis Theatre

V.I.P. Cinépolis Theatre


V.I.P. Cinépolis Seat (Close Up)

V.I.P. Cinépolis Seat (Close Up)

V.I.P. Menu (food and drinks)

V.I.P. Menu (food and drinks)


Finally, we had a late meal at Super Salads.


Trip Summary

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://markovthoughtchain.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/monterrey-mexico-august-16-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] August 16 […]


Leave a Reply

